Free Shipping on orders over $50

Shaman Oils Blog

Chakra: What it is, and What it Means For You

Chakra: What it is, and What it Means For You

Chakra. You’ve probably heard the term before. For some, it’s some “new age” thing they don’t understand. For others, it’s something far more meaningful and far more sacred.

So what is Chakra, anyway? What is it about, what does it mean, and what does it mean for YOU?

Chakra is a Sanskrit word that translates to “wheel” or “disc,” in this case referring to focal points of energy in your body. There are said to be seven primary chakras which, when taken as a whole, encompass your energy and spirit. Each corresponds to an aspect of your person. Those chakras are:

  • Root – Located at the base of your spine, this chakra is associated with instinct and our feeling of being grounded. It often linked to our survival instincts.
  • Sacral –Located in the lower abdomen, this chakra is associated with creativity, intuition, and sexual energy.
  • Solar Plexus – The Solar Plexus chakra is located in the upper abdomen, around the bottom of your rib cage. This one is associated with ego, wisdom, and our impulses.
  • Heart – Located where the name implies, this chakra governs our compassion, our empathy, and yes, the love we can feel and project to others.
  • Throat – This chakra is most closely associated with communication and expression; how we connect with others, our emotions, and out truthfulness.
  • Third Eye – Located between our eyes, this chakra is all about a sense of greater awareness, governing intuition, rationality, thought, wisdom, and the imagination.
  • Crown – Found at the very top of our head, the seventh and final of the primary chakras governs our connection with the divine, with that which is beyond us, and our inner spirituality.

Why is this important and how do these concepts apply to you?

It’s simpler than you might imagine. Because these represent the sum of ourselves, when one or more is “off,” we are off. When the ego is running unchecked, when you feel disconnected from your own spirituality, when you no longer feel grounded, these are all issues we must work through. Even those who do believe in a literal view of chakras can agree with that!

So how do we address these imbalances?

There are many ways, not all suited for this article, but there are a few worth suggesting to anyone, no matter your beliefs:

  • Meditate – Quiet meditation can be a powerful tool in bringing calm and awareness to yourself, no matter the nature of your faith.
  • Aromatherapy – With the help of aromatherapy products such as Shaman Essential Oils, you can find the peace and contentment that has eluded you and begin to feel more grounded again.
  • Warm Bath – A soothing warm bath can work wonders for the soul. This feeling can be enhanced even more by incorporating essential oils into your bath.
  • Yoga – Yoga is not about getting in unusual positions, it’s about learning to gain control of your body and mind in order to pursue both physical and spiritual wellness. That’s why it can be a powerful tool for anyone seeking to become more “centered” in life.

The idea of chakras may seem mysterious and alien to many, but it doesn’t need to. These are basic ideas that can apply to all of us.

Get in touch with your chakras and get in touch with a side of yourself you didn’t realize was accessible!